Deleting a DB System
You can delete a DB system permanently.
All manual backups of the DB system are retained for the defined retention period.
If Automatic backup retention is set to Retain, all automatic backups of the DB system are retained for the defined retention period. If Automatic backup retention is set to Delete, automatic backups in the ACTIVE state are permanently deleted immediately, even if soft delete is enabled. Backups that are already in the DELETE_SCHEDULED state are not deleted immediately and remain available for the soft-delete retention period.
If you have selected Require final backup in the Deletion plan, a final backup is created before deleting the DB system.
- Using the Console
- Using the CLI
- Using the REST API, run the DeleteDbSystem operation.
Using the Console
Use the Console to delete a DB system permanently.
- On the DB systems list page, find the DB system that you want to work with. If you need help finding the list page or the DB system, see Listing DB Systems - Using the Console.
- From the Actions menu for the DB system, select Delete.
- In the Delete DB systems dialog box:
Using the CLI
Use the command-line interface to delete a DB system.
- A DB system Oracle Cloud Identifier (OCID).
- A properly configured CLI installation and the requisite SSH keys. See Command Line Interface.